Light (Broken Pieces) – National Poetry Month day 18 with Rachel Thompson

Welcome to National Poetry Month day eighteen.  Happy Good Friday!

Today I have fellow author, Twitter friend, and poet Rachel Thompson.  She is instigator of #MondayBlogs and a great advocate of indie authors.  Check back later this month for another post from Rachel.  Read her emotion filled poem below and then click on the links following to check out her other writing.  Enjoy!

 

Broken Pieces

Broken Pieces

 

Excerpt from Broken Pieces by Rachel Thompson which is free as an Amazon eBook April 20-22.

 

Light

Allow me to drape my limbs over you; my secret murmurs soothing fears that keep you awake as the rays of the day fade on borrowed rest.

Grasping your hand to keep you from losing your way back to me, you meet my eyes with a rush of desire that slams me in a hard, brilliant flash.

Do you hear me? I whisper along your skin, cooled by the night air. Crossing this wide river to you, I pray you’ll reach for me as I pass by, drowning in your depths.

You, my only salvation.

Will you save me?

Waiting for the sun, I barely breathe so as not to wake you, unable to turn away from the glare of what we’ve wrought.

I bathe in our entangled gleam, where love lives inside the knowledge that tomorrow fades again.

Illumination only lasts until darkness decides to fall.

 

 

Rachel Thompson copy

Bio:
Rachel Thompson is the author of the award-winning Broken Pieces, as well as two additional humor books, A Walk In The Snark and Mancode: Exposed. She also owns BadRedhead Media, creating effective social media and book marketing campaigns for authors. Her articles appear regularly in The Huffington Post, The San Francisco Book Review (BadRedhead Says…), 12Most.com, bitrebels.com, BookPromotion.com, and Self Publishing Monthly. She hates walks in the rain, running out of coffee, and coconut. She lives in California with her family.
Links:

Author Site: rachelintheoc.com
Twitter: @RachelintheOC
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorRachelThompson
Facebook Broken Pieces Fan Page:https://www.facebook.com/BrokenPiecesByRachelThompson
Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/rachelintheoc/
LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/rachel-thompson/24/784/b95
Goodreads:http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4619475.Rachel_Thompson

Leave a Reply

