My Writing Life | AR in the Daytime – National Poetry Month day 28 with Sonya Rhen

Welcome to National Poetry Month day twenty-eight.  Today’s poet is once again… ME!  Hello.

I have double booked myself, which goes to prove the old saying “When it rains, it pours.”  So today’s blog will be my poetry contribution as well as a blog hop on “My Writing Life”.  I immediately thought of the following poem which is found in my book “Requite Me: Poems of Love, Jealously, and Angst.

I love the irony of pairing this poem with me writing about my writing.  (Did I spoil the irony by actually writing about it?)  I wrote the poem below in high school and I’m pretty sure the “AR” stands for “Artificial Reality”.  I seem to remember, at the time, one of my favorite movies was Altered States.  (Yes, I know that dates me, but less because I watched it as a VHS rental.)   After reading the poem below, you can read about what and how I write.  Then click on the links to hop to other writerly blogs.  Enjoy!

Requite Me Front green

AR in the Daytime
My world has become a nightmare
Based on my perceived reality
I have become dissociated from my past
My friends are Complete Utter Strangers
I throw my soul upon the ground
And crush it with the heel of determination,
The need for success, striving to be the Best,
It isn’t me, It isn’t me
It Is Not Me
Not Me
Not Me
Me me…

 

My Writing Life

Thank you to all of you who followed me from Liz Fountain’s Point No Point blog: http://lizfountain.wordpress.com/author/lizfountain/  If not, check out her blog to find out about her writing.

.
1. What am I working on? 
I am currently working on book 2 in my Shredded Orphans series about a seismic rock band that tours to different planets.  I am on about pass three of rewriting.  Although, I’ve skipped around a bit, so some sections might be on pass eight or nine.
.
2. How does my work differ from others in its genre?
I think my work is different since it is humorous science fiction about a rock band.   I don’t find that combination very common.  Even humorous science fiction seems to be a smaller genre than most.  Many people have described my book, Space Tripping with the Shredded Orphans, as Firefly with a band.  I also have a mystery book and literary fiction novel that I’m working on.  I have tried to add humor to those as well.
.
3. Why do I write what I do?
I am definitely influenced by television shows I love.  The Shredded Orphans series, comes out of my love of the shows, Red Dwarf, Farscape and Firefly.  I also grew up on Star Trek and all it’s incarnations.
The mystery book I’m working on comes from my love of mysteries and belly dance.  The literary fiction book is a semi-autobiographical look at the death of my mother.
I like writing humor, because I think laughter is good for the soul.  You should do it at least twice a day.  😉  I believe that there can even be laughter in the most terrible times.  For proof, just see the movie “Life is Beautiful“.
Humor makes us human.
.
4. How does my writing process work?
As of today, I only have one published novel and one published poetry collection.  For the novel, I wrote the rough draft as a 50,000 word NaNoWriMo novel (National Novel Writing Month).
I put it aside for awhile and then when I went back, I re-read it through once with no corrections to see the flow of the work.  Then I read it through and checked grammar, punctuation, point of view and formatting while adding scenes to help the plot.  Next I went through and tried to make all the writing flow better.  I worked on dialogue and took out and moved around scenes.  I went through one more time and tweeked words and scenes.
At this point I felt comfortable allowing a few friends to read it.  I probably sent this and posted it, so that about twenty people had access to it.  I had two people actually read it and I took their notes and made some final revisions.  I spent about 6 months working on the formatting and getting the book cover set up, all the while tweeking at words and scenes here and there.
It took me four years and ten revisions to get to where I felt comfortable with self-publishing it.  The other five novels were also written as NaNoWriMo novels and are in various states of rewrite.  I’m hoping to significantly cut down the rewrite time for the remaining novels.
Thanks for taking the time to read about how I write.  If you have any questions leave a comment and I’ll be happy to answer them.
.
Blog Hop To Here:
Next week, Monday, May 5th, be sure to hop by the following blogs to see “My Writing Life” for Ottilie Webber, Roderick Hart, and Eric Ian Huffman or check them out now to see what they’re working on!  🙂
.
Ottilie Weber
Ottilie Weber
Ottilie Weber grew up in Wall, New Jersey, not far from the beach. She always has a book in her hands or nearby, despite her dyslexia. She graduated from The College of New Jersey, earning a degree in History Secondary Education and is currently in grad school at Georgian Court University. Ottilie has a passion for writing, where she is always ready to take on the next project. Her family and close friends are there to help her take on the bumps or potholes in the road.
.
Roderick Hart

I grew up in St Andrews (Scotland) and went to the University of Aberdeen.  Since then I have worked in education, mostly in audio recording and editing. I have written poetry over the years and published quite a lot of it, though none recently. I concentrate on prose now – novels and short stories. I am married with two children. My daughter lives here in Edinburgh, my son in New York.
.
Eric Ian Huffman
eric%20huffman%20picture%202
My name is Eric Huffman. I spent much of my late teens and early twenties up all night in a small room, scribbling smudgy words in wire bound notebooks. Life took me away from writing for over twenty years, until last year, when I began posting poetry, prose, and short stories online. I was encouraged to do more with my writing by many of my online followers, and the credit, or the blame, for any books that I publish belongs to them. I am currently writing a novel.
3 responses to this post.

  1. Love the poem and the description of your process, Sonya! The idea of an interplanetary rock band makes me laugh, just picturing it. I can hardly wait for you to be done so we can read it! In the meantime check out Piers Anthony’s Gutbucket Quest, written with Ron Leming. All about the mix of blues, rock, guitars, space, time, and love.
    Thanks!
    Liz

    Reply

    • Thanks, Liz! Also thanks for tagging me on this. I’ll definitely have to check out that book. I’ve been trying to catch up on some Sci-Fi fiction. 🙂

      Reply

  2. […] Goodreads Author, Ottilie Weber.  Ottilie has been on my blog before for the blog hop “My Writing Life“, which you can read […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

