April is National Poetry Month! #npm16

Happy National Poetry Month!

NPM-Poster-2016

Two years ago, I did a marathon blog of posting one poem a day for the entire month.  It was a blast, but a little nuts.  Check out the archives for April 2014 starting with the one linked here to read the great poems that I posted with the help of a lot of fellow poets and writers.

Also, you can click on the banner below to find 30 ways to celebrate National Poetry Month.  I’m celebration by buying a book of poems.  (Bought one two weeks ago, but Darn! it wasn’t April)

Large-Blue-RGB-National-Poetry-Month-Logo

Enjoy this month of poems and I’ll leave you with one from the new Shredded Orphans book out soon, The Shredded Orphans and the Space Pirates.

This Mine is Mine

You might own me,
but I own this mine
Because this mine is in me
It burns through my skin
It fills my lungs
This mine comes alive within me

Red dust
Red dust
Tap a vein
Red flows
Red flows
Liquid gold

Swallowed by darkness
I travel inside
Scraping the life from within
Spilling my guts
And gutting the mine
This duel has come to a draw

Red dust
Red dust
Tap a vein
Red flows
Red flows
Liquid gold

You take my life
I take what’s mine
My blood is in the soil.
You can not own
What you do not know
Forever this mine is mine.

Forever this mine is mine.

Leave a Reply

